Track and Race

Everything seems to be falling into place for the Challenge this week and tomorrow I’ll be taking a train for the first time for about 18 months to Swindon, with a coach transfer to Cirencester. Thankfully I’ve had confirmation of these today but it was a bit strange that one (but not both) of the emails went to my spam folder. It had me doubting whether I had actually booked transfers both to and from the event. My bags are not yet packed but I have a full list of what I need.

A few people have asked if they could track my progress as I reach the different stops on the walk and there is a link https://cotswoldway.livetrail.run/  provided by the event organisers. My participant number 2320 is a direct identifier and I am happy to disclose all my personal information as it evolves through Saturday day, night and Sunday morning. Don’t pay too much attention to my ‘pace’ since the time denominator includes all the rest stops; it may not be the case that I’m walking slower, it’s simply that the proportion of overall break-time is higher! I am aiming to finish within 24 hours but I would be very happy just to finish.

The weather forecast is now for light rain and sunny spells. That wouldn’t be too bad at all but if anyone out there is a weather god please make it dry if you can. It makes it even more important to have a couple of spare pairs of socks and some warmer clothing for the night stages. I’m wondering whether to distract myself with Wales v Denmark on Saturday evening radio or just to enjoy / endure the walk for what it is.

I have an 8am start time and I have to be there half an hour prior to that for the baggage drop. Breakfast is provided at accommodation that is apparently very close to the starting place so I will have to get up at 6.something but at least I won’t have a long walk to the start. At each of the three previous ultra events I’ve done, I had clocked up 2 or 3 km by the time I started. First stop at 12 km might be around 10:15 or 10:30, ok, forget the title, I am not going to be racing.

 Sponsorship has ratcheted up a few levels with now more than a thousand pounds for my walk. My sister Joy would be simply overwhelmed by your support as well as the considerable number of donations! Thank you all so much. https://joymay.muchloved.com/fundraising/events/640871817

The next time you’ll hear from me will hopefully be when I’ve completed this challenge. It’s going to be tough and it’s going to hurt but I will be among newly found friends who are going through very similar experiences. But I feel if I can get through to about 65 km, the worst of the hills will be over. Looking forward to then…..

 

4 thoughts on “Track and Race

  1. Hi Keith

    All the best for your Cotswold Way challenge.
    While you’re walking Capeson and I will be at Wembley for the ITA v AUT match.
    It will go some way in making up for the disappointment when UEFA cancelled tickets we’d bought for ENG v SCO.

    Peter

Leave a comment