Brad Pitt kept me up half the night

In all probability today would be the last walk before the Cotswold Way Challenge next weekend, though I suppose it’s possible that I could slip out in midweek for a short few miles. It has become a bit more real with the first of a few emails arriving with the finer details, including my owlishly sounding bib number 2320, the confirmed start time of 8:00am, and a briefing video. I’ve bought my train tickets and so it should be all systems go.

I have had a first look at the weather forecast for Cirencester and surrounding areas and it’s pretty good news. According to the BBC, there may be a bit of light rain on the Friday but Saturday is forecast to be dry with a maximum temperature of 22 Celsius. There is a week for the forecast to change but I couldn’t ask for better than that in late June. Well I could but I’d be chancing my luck with the gods of weather. It’s also a Saturday very close to midsummer so it will be a short night and I won’t be walking in the dark (with a headlight) for too long. It’s even a full moon a couple of days before so we could well have a bit of light from that! Sunset 21:30, sunrise 04:51, and astronomical twilight should end at 23:33 and recommence at 02:47, so meaning there should only be just over three hours when there is absolutely no light in the sky from the sun. The first signs of dawn are always signs of hope for those walking through the night.

This will be my 5th ultra challenge but the first for three years. It’s certainly no gimme but I’ve done almost everything I can to be prepared for it. Touch wood – some aches and pains have eased in the last couple of weeks. Adrenaline is starting to kick in already and I have been particularly lifted by a fantastic number of donations in the last day or two after I gave wider publicity. A couple of people asked if they could track my progress over the walk and indeed that is possible, with an app / link thingy thing normally made available in the week prior to the event. I’ll ensure I post this as and when the organisers send it to me.

In the meantime, thank you so much to those who have sponsored me and supported me. Any donations, however large or small, are very much appreciated. https://joymay.muchloved.com/fundraising/events/640871817. Today I had Joy very much in my thoughts as I pushed myself hard a couple of times, visualising the 99 km sign, with just one more kilometre to go. It is one of the really helpful things on these ultra that there is a sign at every kilometre, to keep you going, knowing where the next rest stop is. And when the going does get tough next weekend, I will be hearing Joy’s voice in my head to give me so much strength.

I would be very happy if Saturday’s weather mirrors today’s. A little drizzle around noon but fairly overcast throughout except for an hour when the sun broke through and it became warmer than I felt entirely comfortable with. I had had a headache in the morning and didn’t feel merely half-full of energy until after I had stopped for coffee and biscuits at 7 miles. It’s my own fault (of course) since I started watching Meet Joe Black on tv last night without realising it was 2 hours 40 minutes and not finishing until 1:20am. So I’ll correct that. It was Brad Pitt’s fault.

Nevertheless I cracked on and plodded out 22.5 miles. A pretty decent effort even if I say so myself, and even if I have to do much more next weekend. I do know though that adrenaline will kick in and there will be great support from the volunteers and fellow participants. I am as ready as I am going to be. Bring it on, along with no late nights and being sensible for once.

 

4 thoughts on “Brad Pitt kept me up half the night

  1. Just to say I hope all goes well, and you enjoy it. I think the least Brad Pitt should do is get up at 2am in Missouri or wherever, and follow your progress as you set off.

Leave a comment