No bleach required

President Trump’s advice has not gone unheeded. Some lovely sunlight this afternoon for my walk, now only the disinfectant and bleach to come. I’ll have my milk first and see how we go.

Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday were as intense a set of three successive days as I’ve had for a long time and, while I’m not for one minute suggesting it’s anywhere as tough as being on the very front line of the NHS, I did deserve a Friday afternoon walk. I have started to use our gym after work and have already felt the benefit, both physically and mentally.

As a follow-up to Activ8, we now have ReActiv8 from 20 April until into June. Much less competitive and much more a social thing but it is taking time to achieve a firm footing with participants. I am more into keeping up the 20 minute minimum exercise each day, and so far have thrashed away on the cycle in half-hour chunks. But give me fresh air and a walk of a fair distance any time.

Once again, a mixed story in social distancing. The vast vast majority of pedestrians are really good and doing their very best. It is nice that young women who, in normal circumstances, wouldn’t grant me a second look, are now smiling more than a synchronised swimmer at an Olympic trial. The very small minority just make life a bit difficult by making no effort at all to play their part, especially annoying when it would seem to be easier for them than me.

One woman in particular was seemingly desperate to exercise her human right to walk exactly where she wanted, irrespective of anybody else. I would suggest that she was one of those people who would benefit from wearing a mask, at all times not just during these times, as she embarked on a demonstration of passive-aggression I haven’t seen since that teenage boy asked me for a fiver to look after my car while I was going to watch football.

A good 11.5 miles on a warm afternoon which peaked at over 20 degrees. Enough to raise the heart rate, break into a reasonable sweat and stretch a few muscles. A contribution of 199 minutes to my ReActiv8 account. No bleach required.

Leave a comment