Monet problems need sorting

I chose the hottest part of a pretty warm day to walk today. There was method in my madness as, if I am going to restrict myself time wise, I might as well push myself reasonably hard. It was noticeable that there were few runners on the road. I assume that they had decided to wimp it out in the early morning in the cool. 11 miles for me (to and from Stubbington Ark, different routes) and though these are all really half-distance walks now, it was a bit tiring near the end as I did my best to maintain a reasonable pace.

I was also out of water by the end with me not particularly wanting to go into a shop. Yesterday I noticed a fish and chip shop open in Hedge End, serving customers from the front door. I was not tempted, especially when I saw the customer and server exchange cash in both note and coin form, and neither wearing any gloves. Likewise, nearer to home, two blokes entered one of my local shops without gloves and one letting out a throaty cough as he pushed open the door.

So still feeling apprehensive about going out but I can at least keep myself to myself when I am walking, and 99% of people are very considerate and social distancing sensibly. I get the impression many others are as nervous as I am, but if there is one thing I really miss, it’s having 30 minutes with a coffee and a newspaper mid-walk. We aren’t even buying newspapers at present, due to the possibly of infection. I am a shield and I am not bothered about being on the risk averse side. We are getting enough news from other sources, thank you very much, and actually want a break at times from all the grim stuff.

So away from the news in Spiceboy Towers, one 1,000 piece jigsaw all sorted into the right order, and now into a tricker 750 piece one, featuring a number of paintings by Claude Monet. This is our main joint activity at the moment, sorting out our Monet problems……

Leave a comment