Stupid is as stupid does

Note to self: if you’re going for a long walk, wear proper walking shoes. I should know this by now but, now and again, stupid is as stupid does.

My walking shoes are very worn, as I’ve said previously. For some reason, with a relatively short walk in my head, I thought that wearing my normal trainers would be better than proper shoes designed for walking. My trainers clearly had greater tread than my walking shoes which would fail an MOT test if they were tyres. It sounded sensible at the time, is all else I will say.

My head was full of cricket today. Yesterday was not a great day for me as a scorer and I had to remind myself that I go to cricket as a release from the some time stress, pressure and scrutiny I can get at work. Rather than easing all these, yesterday exacerbated them. I was getting messages and calls last night and this morning, just at the point when I didn’t need them. I will say that – while I was out walking – I had a good, nice and helpful exchange by message with a couple I know from cricket, asking as to my wellbeing.

A coffee break at 7 miles came just as I started to feel a little discomfort. I treated myself to the max of a large vanilla latte plus a muffin and took my time while I rested my feet. So far I’d had but the two thin layers while wrapping my hoodie around my midriff like schoolboys taking their jumpers off while playing football in the playground. Now, with a keen wind in the afternoon sunshine, I put on the hoodie but unzipped at the front.

I wasn’t in any mood to take anything but the shortest route home until I did a lap of the cricket ground. My feet were very painful and some damage even though the distance was only 13.5 miles. Yes, I know I need new footwear. Procrastination is my worst habit and I will set aside some time tomorrow to seek out some shoes.

Finally, one of my greatest supporters during LEJOG, Ali Crocker (now Ali Johnson) has her husband Dave Johnson walking London2Brighton, 100 km (62 miles), next weekend I think. What might also catch the eye is that he is walking for SANDS, as I did 8 years ago. He has as personal a reason for that charity as I did. If you have any cash or space on your credit card, please think about sparing it for Dave. I have pledged my Fantasy Football winnings, probably £20, though my lead narrowed considerably through the last two hours. Link below if you could spare anything….

https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/david-johnson148

Leave a comment