Fizz on an afternoon walk

As it dawns on us that no-one has a clue when this semi-lockdown is going to end, it is clear that cricket ain’t happening this year, not yet anyway and possibly not at all. My Southern Premier League league ladders will have to stay in the drawer for now. But I can reveal that cricket is going on in a parallel universe and, engaging the power and might of technology, I can follow it on Ceefax. Ah the joys of waiting for scores to update, and through a number of screens for the same page. As one who, before widespread commentary of every one of our games, endured 90 minutes on Ceefax watching Pompey grind out a 0-0 draw at Derby, I have been there. This is the one place where cricket moved quicker than footie. Ah, another run, oh, no, it’s a leg bye. This is gripping.

It must be hard for children to be stuck in the house. If it was me, I can’t even say I’d be playing loads of subbuteo cricket with my best friend because I wouldn’t be allowed in his house. I also did have the subbuteo football game but was traumatised when my Spurs lost to his Chelsea after an own goal by Steve Perryman when I didn’t even have my hand on Pat Jennings’ rod. I would be more than happy to play table football, monopoly, snooker (I had a very mini table about 2 feet long), and any number of card games by myself. If I’d been given school homework I’d have been doing that, as I was what was known as a ‘keano’. We had a small garden so there was scope for some limited playing outside, despite having neighbours on one side who complained as soon as we made a squeak of a noise.

Fortunately I am allowed out now and again to go walking. This afternoon, amid what now appears to be becoming over-zealous social distancing (though better over- than under-zealous, the latter more evident in Tesco this morning), I trotted out another 11 miles. To avoid other pedestrians, I think I crossed more roads than the proverbial chicken has in all-time joke telling. Staying south of Sarisbury throughout, the roads and paths fairly quiet, this was recently paced most of the time with a couple of speed walks thrown in. On one road, I was momentarily distracted by a girl bouncing up and down riding a horse. Reminded me very much of Fizz in Eldorado. This was a time when I really wanted my light-reactive sunglasses so she wouldn’t see where I was staring. Perhaps I’ve been stuck in the house too long.

Back to the 1,000 piece jigsaw for a few minutes now. I know that will soon turn into a couple of hours. On the accompanying flier, I note there is an 18,000 piece puzzle available, clearly for people with a much larger table than we have. Blimey, give me Ceefax any time.

Leave a comment