Return to bananas

Starting a real health kick diet-wise. So far, this consists of not having sugar in my tea, giving up my real sin of white bread and resisting most of anything that has much added sugar. This is just necessary now and I was always going to do this once I’d finished that recent Challenge. The point is that I know that much of what I eat is unhealthy but I still do it in a cognitive dissonance sort of way. At least I have never had any problem having five (or more) pieces of fruit a day, and milk, eggs, cheese and certain yogurts are ok for me. It’s a bit more complex than that but the bottom line is that I have to reduce things like chocolate, biscuits and cake and find healthier alternatives. I noticed the automatic reaching for snacks yesterday evening when I started the washing up – so the habit was obviously quite ingrained. Return to bananas as the snack of choice, after some years.

Of course, exercise is good and I have at least been in a good place there for a few years. I am building up slowly again with a view to undertake an ultra challenge later in the summer, though I’ve not decided which one. I wasn’t that enthusiastic or full of energy this morning, and it’s been a tough week full of minor and major irritations, so I eventually convinced myself to get out of bed and on the road. Note that I did wash and dress in between those two actions. A smoothie (already my regular breakfast anyway) containing blueberries, spinach, cucumber, banana, chia and flax seeds, goji berries, sultanas and granola (with almond milk!), plus a cup of tea and some cereal, and I was on my way.

While the weather transitioned from a bit chilly to drizzle to warm sunshine and then back to even more chilly, I moved from a stroll to more stroll and then more stroll. I need to get used to this new eating regime since I felt as if I didn’t have too many miles in my legs today. I was happy enough with 9 miles, gritted teeth and manful resolve. The only incident of note (and barely that) was having that little side-to-side dance with another man, where you keep inadvertently blocking the other person’s way. I smiled pleasantly, as you do, and he looked at me as if he was thinking about kicking my head in. Thankfully he opted for simply a tut. Some people, eh – always looking for conflict.

Of course, if an eating regime is going to have any marked effect, it needs to be something I can keep to. So I won’t be too hard on myself; I just need to move in the direction of a better diet rather than an immediate all-or-nothing. Simple smallish gradual changes are the name of the game. Cricket teas are going to be a challenge, no doubt…….yes, we have no bananas……

 

 

Leave a comment