Let’s synchronise our headlights

I can’t say I was too enthusiastic about talking about the forthcoming Wight Challenge at work today. I thought I had banged on enough about it over the last two or three weeks but apparently quite a few people didn’t know.

It was very nice and encouraging for so many people to wish me well for the weekend – it did mean a lot to me and put me in a slightly better frame of mind. I said to more than one person to think of me, not on Saturday morning, afternoon or even the evening, but if they wake up in the night, because the strong likelihood is that I will be out there walking in the dark, with a head light (a glorified headband with a light attached). That is, unless I am at a refreshment stop or taking a break of some sort. The advice is to avoid too many sugary foods or caffeine in order to get through the night. That is contrary to what I would have thought, but I will have my emergency rations, cereal bars, biscuits etc.

9:10 start on Saturday morning. I am expecting to finish sometime between 9am and 1pm on Sunday and then sleep, eat and probably sleep while I eat. Not returning to the mainland until Monday, so a bit of rest and recuperation will be welcome. Having the week off work should help.

About 900 people taking part, and around 50-100 in each group setting off. I am never a great conversationalist with people I don’t know that well, but hopefully there can be mutual support as the going gets harder ……. and it will! I will just do my best; I am much more nervous about this than last year’s epic. Perhaps it is because I am slave to other peoples arrangements and rules, rather than having planned the whole thing myself.

Wish me well. Thank you for all your support.

Leave a Reply

