Duvet day cut short

There are some places in Britain that would lay virtually unknown if only not for one or more terrible events. The mere mention of their name instantly links the mind to that event: Aberfan, Dunblane, Hungerford, Rothbury, Saddleworth Moor and others. Today I have walked the short journey up to one such town, Lockerbie. Visiting a town with such a tragic place in history puts much of my whinging tale of woes today in some perspective.

I am not sure what was going on in my head and body this morning, except a complete enthusiasm bypass. After breakfast, on discovering the check-out time was 11am rather than the more usual 10am, I returned to bed for an additional hour’s snooze. The fact that I had just a 10 mile walk in store was music to my ears and every other body part. Eventually I had to get up and get on with it.

Maybe I’ve reached the point where this walk is no longer a novelty and reality has kicked in. If so, it has taken a while! More likely it is that tiredness is kicking in. I suppose it is not surprising that there appears a connection between lack of enthusiasm and more aches and pains.

The route today had plenty of attractive possibilities, encompassing one end of the Annandale Way. A nice riverside walk for the first two or three miles but I diverted to the road, not before capturing this beauty:

image

Ok, not as impressive as some I’ve seen. But that is as good as you are going to get today. A good chat on the phone with my cousin Mark and then with my mum did help me to focus on the task in hand and to achieve a finish just after 3pm. Tomorrow is another day. April Fool’s Day. Don’t worry, there won’t be any untruths here, I promise.

One thought on “Duvet day cut short

  1. Keith: you probably felt tired today as your subconscious knew that it was only a ‘ten miler’ and it filtered through to your conscious self overnight. Also, you have gone such a distance now that you don’t need gallons of adrenaline to motivate you. There will be loads more sunlight now that the clocks have changed, and as you head further north. And: you can tell yourself that you’ve already walked from one end of England to the other…… not many people can say that! Scotland is much smaller than England and you’ll soon be in Glasgow too. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

