Foot stands up to Dales Way

Another 16 miles under my belt after a slightly more difficult walk than I imagined. That said, it was a more interesting route than was suggested by my GPS.

After about 4 miles on a country lane heading almost directly north during which I encountered precisely 4 moving vehicles, and then a mile or two on the not that busy A683 (pretty much a country lane with some white lines), I diverted onto the Dales Way. Some hills and tougher terrain than I really wanted, but was it worth it? Yes, yes indeed. Now, let’s see if I can finally get some pictures up.

image

image

image

Stunning. Delighted that my foot stood up to the rigours of today’s walk and that I also had some real memories. However, from the time I left Barbon to the time I reached Tebay, I did not see one shop nor one pub, except one that was shut. Hence I had to last the day without significant sustenance – it seems that every day is testing me in a different way!

Finally, a road sign that I haven’t come across before.

image

Beware of coach and horses and what looks like a football by its back hooves. I kept my wits about me just in case.

Leave a comment