If you’re grumpy and you know it……

Feeling a bit down this evening. I’m trying to put together the quiz for our C*****mas Party at work next Tuesday and I have complete quiz compiler’s block. I’ve done so many of these in the past: the last five Christmases, two leaving dos, a maternity celebration, two BBQs, two charity nights, two football quizzes and a few other impromptu ones, but I have no idea where to go. Last year, I did an “Anti-Christmas Quiz” featuring pictures of people who had died on Christmas Day, other questions on a host of bad events around Christmas etc. that seemed to go down well. But I’m really struggling with a fast-approaching deadline.

Not feeling particularly positive in any case. The enormity of the walk is dawning on me but I can continue to convince myself that it will be great once I start and each day’s walk will be like going to work, except that the toil is physical rather than mental. While people are still extremely supportive, and doing everything to help, the whole thing fills me with a bit of fear. Actually, it is the next nine weeks sorting out all the arrangements and related minutiae that concern me more than the walk itself, apart from about four particular days on the route that look a real challenge. I am inherently lazy and will leave things until the last possible moment, normally, but I know I can’t afford to do that with this.

Can’t say I look forward to Christmas in any case (if you hadn’t guessed from previous posts). I would be very happy not to speak to anybody else in the world apart from Pammy and Matt for a few days and avoid it all. I’m sorry if that offends people but I can’t be doing with the forced happiness and stuff that goes with Christmas. I’ll be happy if I want to be, just don’t expect me to do it on cue.

4 thoughts on “If you’re grumpy and you know it……

  1. Hey Keith, we are all right behind you. I, for one, admire what you are doing. Remember, Christmas is just a time of year and the true meaning was lost years ago! You have the right to do what you want and feel how you feel.

Leave a Reply

