Socks and phones and rock n roll

Today I have to say goodbye to two of my friends for the past 18 months. My 1,000 Mile socks have been great to me, to a point that I barely even get a hint of a blister. They’re not the only socks I wear for walking but they’ve been the best……until quite recently. What I didn’t realise was that the 1,000 miles meant 500 miles per sock, or thereabouts. They are still wearable but are starting to come loose inside and there are beginnings of a hole near one of the toes. I won’t be cremating them and sprinkling the ashes over my favourite walking routes but they’ve done me good. Even if they only gave me half the distance I thought they would.

Bank account unlocked. Working at home yesterday morning, and in anticipation of a call from my bank between 9am and 5pm, I received a phone call at 9:01. All dealt with very efficiently. After introductions (she had a lovely voice) I tried to strike up a conversation but unfortunately her discourse went something like this:

I need to ensure that you are who you say you are. Please type your birthday in the form Day followed by Month. For example,……….

If you are satisfied that this transaction was genuine and attempted by you, please press 1.

Thank you. If you would like any other services offered by ****** Bank, please press 1, otherwise hang up.

OK, all done. But sometimes I would like to talk to a real person and I can explain that this is likely to happen again. But she did have a lovely voice.

Forget the rock n roll.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/1000-Mile-Mens-Fusion-Sock/dp/B002RBE290/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1380180974&sr=8-1&keywords=1000+mile+socks

Leave a Reply

